Robin Geitenbeek winner of the MCEC Poster Prize 2016

The MCEC Annual Meeting 2016, held on last April 13 and 14, was a great success. Approximately sixty scientists gathered in conference center De Koningshof, Veldhoven to discuss the present program, results, and future challenges for the MCEC projects. Throughout these two days, thirty PhD’s and postdocs presented their projects in six 15-minute-presentations and twentyfour 5-minute-pitches. Each was supported by a scientific poster.

On Wednesday prof. Niels Deen and prof. Petra de Jongh held lectures on respectively metal fuels and energy storage. All of the participants enjoyed good scientific discussions and a brisk walk before retreating to a well-earned dinner. The day ended with drinks and an informal poster viewing.

On Thursday, prof. Guido Mul (UT), prof. Rene Janssen (TU/e) and dr. Wilson Smith (TU Delft) were invited to give guest lectures. Prof Emiel Hensen chaired a final Q&A and discussion round, after which the winner of the MCEC Poster Prize was announced.

The jury, consisting of dr. Rosa Bulo, dr. Ivo Filot and dr. Stefan Kooij, judged the posters on presentation, design and contents. The jury acclaimed the poster of Robin Geitenbeek as best, among other things because its mainly image-based design invited viewers to start a discussion on the contents. Robin was surprised, but also very pleased with this token of confirmation that concerning his scientific work, he’s on the right track. One of his main concerns while designing the poster, he explained, was to make sure the contents could also be understood by people from other fields.

The winning poster: Temperature probes for catalytic applications                                      By: Robin Geitenbeek, Alfons van Blaaderen, Bert Weckhuysen, Andries Meijerink