Detlef Lohse awarded with 2017 Fluid Dynamics Prize

The American Physical Society (APS) has awarded Detlef Lohse with the 2017 Fluid Dynamics Prize, because of his “profound and wide-ranging contributions to our understanding of fluid turbulence, multiphase flow, and granular flows; for outstanding contributions to the teaching and training of future fluid dynamicists; and for long-standing service to the international fluid dynamics community”.

The Fluid Dynamics Prize, which recognizes and encourages outstanding achievement in fluid dynamics research, has been awarded by the APS annually since 1979. Detlef Lohse counts as the youngest recipient and only 3rd non-American so far.

Read more on the website of the APS.

July 17, 2017